*Unconsciously Graceful | Spotlight on Lillian Bassman

by ThisIsShe|Mags

“I am completely tied up with softness, fragility, and the problems of a feminine world.” – Lillian Bassman

I dabble in photography. You could say I have a good eye. The eye is a strange thing isn’t it? A part of the body that speaks the most kindly and yet ferciously. My eyes have seen a lot. Good, bad, yes’s and no’s. I have soaked in life on more than one occassion. I stumbled aross Lillian Bassman’s fashion photography when researching graphic designers. A simple enough search. When I saw Lillian’s works – vignettes of memory and exposure – there was definitely a sense of mystery. A gracefulness that is instinctive.

“For more than 80 years, Lillian Bassman defined, not only fashion, but the role of a fashion photographer.”

Source: Unconsciously Graceful: Lillian Bassman

gfjhgjg

By Night, Shining Wool and Towering Heel, Evelyn Tripp, Suit by Handmacher, New York, Harper’s Bazaar1954

gutgugkhhil

The Little Furs: Mary Jane Russell in a cape-jacket by Ritter Brothers at the Essex House, New York1955

jkbjgbjhghj.PNG

Tra Moda e Arte: Teresa in a gown by Laura Biagiotti and shoes by Romeo Gigli1996

 

 

